Vanbot – Perfect Storm (album)

“Why are Swedish female pop stars always so brilliant?…”  – The Guardian

“Thrilling” – NYLON Magazine

“Massive,  pumped full of space-age electronica & soaring synthesizers…” – MTV Buzzworthy

(Lisch Recordings & distributed Sony Music Sweden)
Host new single “Seven” & “The Way You Say It
Promo shot here, album art here

Stockholm melody master Vanbot has released her new album Perfect Stormdrawing support from The Times (**** review), The Sunday Times, Stereogum, Nylon, The Guardian, Pop Justice, Interview Magazine and MTV. The Johannes Berglund (The Knife, I Break Horses) produced & mixed record sees Vanbot embark on a darker and more evocative spectrum than previous outings.

Shelving a virtually complete album in 2013 after a creative breakdown, Vanbot (real name Ester Ideskog) began anew and vowed to lean away from musical norm in search of a greater bite and growl. Despite the change in direction, Vanbot still thrives on the same DIY spirit and never ending enthusiasm for crafting unstoppable pop. The result is one of the strongest pop albums of the year so far, where every song has great single potential, whilst the complete listen takes one on a unique journey.

Perfect Storm is shadowy and dangerous and will rub shoulders with the likes of Lykke Li’s 2014 release I Never Learn and or Nikki & The Dove’s debut, Instinct. Vanbot’s trademark melody perfection from previous releases remains but it has been made slicker and more pliable, now part of the wider conversation and not the sole focus. Driving beats and tense compositions now take precedence, with Vanbot now leaner, edgier and gloriously confident in her freedom to create exactly what she wants with part co-writers Jan Kask and Adam Olenius (Say Lou Lou, Tove Styrke, Shout Out Louds).

Perfect Storm is out now via Lisch Recordings and distributed by Sony Music Sweden, with a new London show announced for June 11th at Kopparberg Urban Forest Festival in Dalston.

Track list:

  1. Perfect Storm (Part I)
  2. Trooper
  3. The Way You Say It
  4. Bite The Bullet
  5. Watching You Sleep
  6. Shake
  7. Maniac
  8. June
  9. Seven
  10. Better In The Light
  11. Secrets
  12. Stay Alive
  13. Perfect Storm (Part II)